Mad respect for Chris Borland

At the age of 24, San Francisco 49ers linebacker Chris Borland decided to call it a career on Monday because of safety issues.

“I feel largely the same, as sharp as I’ve ever been. For me, it’s wanting to be proactive,” Borland said. “I’m concerned that if you wait ’til you have symptoms, it’s too late. … There are a lot of unknowns. I can’t claim that X will happen. I just want to live a long, healthy life, and I don’t want to have any neurological diseases or die younger than I would otherwise.”- The former Wisconsin Badger said.

I’m sure this was not an easy decision for Borland to make. His career just began and he had already made an impact for the team in the absence of Patrick Willis, who also retired this offseason. What he is commendable. Not everyone is willing to walk away from a huge paycheck in the name of his or her health. He had over $1.8 million left on his contract for the final three years.

In fourteen games, Borland had 108 tackles and 2 interceptions.

Borland told ESPN’s Outside the Lines that he planned to return to school to obtain a degree in sports management.

Personally, I do not know if I could have done it so early in my career. Assuming my dream has always been to make it to the NFL, I would have spent my high school years and college years just to get a taste of my dream. Maybe living out the first contract would have been a better idea. However, if the heart is not in willing to be apart of the NFL why take a roster spot of someone who really wants to play.

Photo by: AP

For up to the minute information be sure to sign up for the email list and follow Down the Line Sports & Entertainment.

Share a Link via twitter

Twitter Follow Regis J. Welch

Twitter Follow Down the Line Sports and Entertainment

Contact Us

