Tiger out indefinitely

Tiger Woods just announced on his website that he will be out indefinitely because he needs “a lot of work on my game.”

Click here for a preview of the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro AM.

“Right now, I need a lot of work on my game, and to still spend time with the people that are important to me,” he said. “My play, and scores, are not acceptable for tournament golf. Like I’ve said, I enter a tournament to compete at the highest level, and when I think I’m ready, I’ll be back,” Woods said.

Tiger is now ranked 62nd in the world. This is his lowest ranking since coming on tour in 1996. He will surely fall even farther on the Official World Golf Rankings as long as he is out, The Masters is in eight weeks, so the chances of him playing there are quite bleak.

He went on to add that the injury he suffered last week at the Farmers Insurance Open had nothing to do with he deciding to take a break.

Jason Day wins the Farmers Insurance Open. 

Photo by: (Thomas J. Russo, USA TODAY Sports)

For up to the minute information be sure to sign up for the email list and follow Down the Line Sports & Entertainment.

Share a Link via Twitter

Follow Regis J. Welch on Twitter

Follow Down the Line Sports and Entertainment on Twitter

Contact Us

