Tiger Flops (not the golf swing)

Embed from Getty Images

The first round of the Waste Management Phoenix Open got underway today and Tiger Woods, well he disappointed. Arguably, he is the greatest player from around the green and he proved that was a myth in the opening round.

“I’m just having a hard time finding the bottom. Because of my old pattern, I was so steep on it, that I have a new grind on my wedge and sometimes it’s hard to trust. This is a similar grind I used to use back in the early 2000s, but it’s a different grind. Some of my shots were into the grain with tight pins, and either I flop it or bump it, one of the two. I chose to bump it,” Woods said post round.

Through the first four holes he was +4. He was able to calm down and get into the tournament. On the 13th Woods was able to get his first eagle since the 2013 Firestone Invitational. He finished at 2-over for the day.

His playing partners didn’t play much better. Jordan Spieth finished at -1 and Patrick Reed concluded at even.

If you don’t know who else is in the field you can view the Waste Management Phoenix Open preview here.

Also, Darius Rucker will be performing at the Birds Nest tonight. You can view his top 10 songs countdown here as well.

Share the link via Twitter

Follow Regis J. Welch on Twitter

Follow Down the Line Sports and Entertainment on Twitter

Contact Us

